Rosti

When I saw this recipe for Rosti, Swiss Hash Browns, in the Saveur 150 Classics magzine all I could think was “This is a giant Latke”. Now while many people love latkes, I’m actually not their biggest fan. I need to eat them straight off the frying pan with sour cream. Therefore I was a little doubtful I would enjoy this potato only recipe. Still I was willing to give it a try.

Ingredients:

russet potatoes

lard or unsalted butter (Substitution Note: I used Earth Balance to make this non-dairy and kosher)

canola oil

salt

This recipe is actually available online on Saveur’s website.

The Process:

I elected to hand grate the potatoes, and found it not unlike making potato kugel. The instructions are simple and easy so once everything was boiled and grating it went into the skillet with Earth Balance.

I stirred frequently in the beginning to throughly coat the potatoes. Do not skimp on skillet space! Use at least the recommended 8″ skillet. This gives you enough space to mix the potatoes and the butter/lard quickly and easily. After that, I used a hard earthenware plate to weigh down the mix and voila! Rosti.

STB_0921

To flip the Rosti onto the plate I enlisted my husbands help and we both

donned oven mitts to avoid burning. It actually slid right off thanks to the well greased potatoes. It looked really pretty.

The Taste:

It looks like Saveur promised and did indeed taste like a less-crisp latke, but slightly more Earthy/wholesome. The real kicker? My baby who was just starting finger foods at the time loved it! I still needed the sour cream and applesauce. 

STA_0924

Leave a Reply

