Wholesome Breakfast Muffin

10 Feb

Lately I’ve been getting up at the horrific hour of 5am – way too early to eat my usual cereal and milk breakfast. This results in considerable hunger in the middle of my commute, especially when fellow commuters whip out such aromatic breakfast items as onion bagels and flavored yogurts. To combat my mid-commute starvation and envy I need breakfast items that are easily eaten on the run and don’t take forever to prepare. I also want an element of health – sure that onion bagel smelled great but I  imagine eating an onion bagel heaped with cream cheese everyday isn’t all that good for me. I’ve heard rave reviews about the wholesome breakfast muffins featured in the Bais Yaakov cookbook and decided to give them a try. I was attracted by the use of whole wheat flour (which I admit I rarely use) and alternative sweeteners and fats like applesauce and apple juice. Plus what’s easier to grab on the way out that a muffin?

Ingredients:

whole wheat flour, quick cooking oats, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, applesauce, apple juice, egg, vanilla extract, chocolate chips

The Process:

The recipe is fairly simple. Preheat the oven, mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, spoon into muffin Wholesome Breakfast Muffin battercups and bake for 20 minutes. Not exactly rocket science (which is a selling point in my opinion!). The one variation I found was that I needed 13 muffin cups when the recipe called for “12 standard muffin cups”. Maybe our definitions of standard are just not that standard.

I baked these in silicone stand alone muffin cups as opposed to a muffin tin because I find that I never have issues with muffins sticking or having to grease the pan with these cups. They have also never burnt a muffin and the same cannot be said for tins in my experience.

During the baking process I kept thinking I smelled something burning and running over to check the oven, but it turns out thats just the way whole wheat baked goods smell when baking. It’s a richer, earthier smell that white flour. Nothing was burning and I just needed to calm down.

The Results:

Wholesome Breakfast Muffins

I was fairly disappointed in these muffins. I had heard such rave reviews I was expecting something special. Instead I got a fairly dense muffin that was hard on the outside while still remaining chewy on the inside. The taste was nothing special and if you are looking for a fluffy cake-like muffin, this is not the recipe for you. On the other hand, they did not taste bad, and for whole wheat baked goods they were not as heavy on the stomach as expected. One small muffin was surprisingly filling keeping me full for several hours in the morning. They also don’t expand that much so don’t worry about filling your cups to exactly 3/4 full.

Would I make these again? Maybe. They are filling and easy to make. However I would swap out the chocolate chips for craisins which might give this muffin a lighter flavor than dense chocolate chips. The tanginess would also contrast well with the whole wheat.

Wholesome Breakfast Muffin from Bais Yaakov Cokbook

Leave a Reply

